You are not logged in. Click here if you would like to register
Register    Login    Search  

Home » Board index » Main Board » Help, Troubleshooting, and Questions




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post Posted: September 14th, 2011, 4:58 pm 
Graphic Artist
Graphic Artist
Offline

Joined: December 19th, 2010
Posts: 252
Well it's really hard, so I don't want to suggest it to anyone but if you like the challenge.. ;)


It goes more or less like this if you have modchip:

1. Remove Samsung RAM chips from spare/broken Xbox using hot air gun method.
2. Flash Cromwell 2.40 bios in the Xbox which you're going to upgrade.
3. Disassemble Xbox and solder first chip to the Xbox mobo (5th in total).
4. Re-assemble Xbox and boot using cromwell bios. Green light is good. FRAG or FRAO means bridge.
5. Disassemble Xbox and solder next chip (6th in total).
6. Re-assemble Xbox and boot using cromwell bios. Green light is good. FRAG or FRAO means bridge.
7. Disassemble Xbox and solder next chip (7th in total).
8. Re-assemble Xbox and boot using cromwell bios. Green light is good. At this point Cromwell screen showed up and said I have 128mb, though theres was actually only 112mb. But don't get scared if you dont get any video..
9. Disassemble Xbox and solder the last chip (8th in total).
10. Re-assemble Xbox and boot using cromwell bios. If everything is OK, you should get video and the screen should say 128MB installed.
11. Now you can boot/flash bios which support 128MB RAM back to your modchip (like iND.5003.06)
12. If you ever get this far congratz!


- If you don't have much experience of soldering, there's a BIG chance you mess something up.. There's lots of little things which can go wrong.

- If your Xbox already have some factory solder on the chip pads, you probably don't need to add any solder. However, aligning the chip is much harder..

- If Cromwell gives green light and no video after installing all 4 chips, try reflow.. This happened to me too but reflow fixed it.

- There's no need to plug DVD drive and HDD when you're booting to Cromwell during installation. Front panel/Fan/PSU is enough.

- If the Xbox freezes in a little while after succesful installation --> Reflow.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: September 14th, 2011, 5:39 pm 
Graphic Artist
User avatar
Graphic Artist
Online

Joined: May 29th, 2010
Posts: 1624
Nice one FrankMorris :D

_________________
As a wise man said "Watching the tail wag the dog"


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: September 14th, 2011, 7:29 pm 
Xtras God
User avatar
Xtras God
Offline

Joined: May 30th, 2010
Posts: 1802
Location: France
Xbox Version: v1.6
Yes, very nice ... thanks :D

I have search and found the bios here :
http://gx-mod.com/xbox/modules/mydownlo ... php?cid=10
If i understand a free legal BIOS to use linux on xbox :D

With the Xcalibur 3.0.4 CD we can start the xbox
Go to flash Bios
And there, they write if we flash our TSOP, because i don't have a puce, it is not compatble with the Ndure !
We can't flash if we don't have a puce ?

At the end you write to flash modchip with iND.5003.06.
It is better than Evox M8 or Xecuter 2 4983 ?

- I know i have many questions but it is hard now to find the good informations around the beb !
No good tutorial to read and do ...
Like to change our IDE HD with an SATA one ...

If some one can explain more in detail ... i thanks him :D


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: September 14th, 2011, 8:30 pm 
Graphic Artist
Graphic Artist
Offline

Joined: December 19th, 2010
Posts: 252
darknior wrote:
At the end you write to flash modchip with iND.5003.06.
It is better than Evox M8 or Xecuter 2 4983 ?


In my opinion it is, but you can use X2/X3 too if you want. :)

If I've understood correctly, M8 doesn't have 128mb support.. (?)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: September 14th, 2011, 11:01 pm 
Xtras God
User avatar
Xtras God
Offline

Joined: May 30th, 2010
Posts: 1802
Location: France
Xbox Version: v1.6
Ok thanks, but can i flash my TSOP on my xbox mother board ?
Or we must flash an external chip ?

I think, but it is just my opinion ... it will be cool if there is a real tutoriel hardware forum here.
Just with the tutorials we must use for emulation, like change Hard Drive, easy in IDE but hard in sata, and add RAM, add YUV on motherboard ... etc ...
With pictures, videos ? ... etc ...

Good or bad idea ?
I can help for some :p


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: September 14th, 2011, 11:27 pm 
Graphic Artist
Graphic Artist
Offline

Joined: December 19th, 2010
Posts: 252
I don't see any reason why TSOP wouldn't work too, but I can't give any troubleshoot help regarding to it, as I've never used it.. :)

If you use TSOP, you *should* be able to reflash using Cromwell BIOS..


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: September 15th, 2011, 1:11 am 
Super Member
User avatar
Super Member
Offline

Joined: June 30th, 2010
Posts: 100
@Darknior, most of the latest X2 bios's should work with 128mb ram. I can verifiy since my 128 board i got from Trusty came with the TSOP pre-flashed with X2_4981.67 and it worked just fine. Also you can use X2_5035 but really does depend on what version your xbox is.

Version 1.0-1.1 needs a bios that is 1MB in size, I recommend you only use X2_5035 for this as it does come in a 1MB flavor

Versions 1.2-1.5 uses a 256k sized bios, in this case you would use X2_4981. There are two version of that bios however, one is 4981.06 and one is 4981.67, the different numbers at the end determine whether or not you can use a bigger hard drive over 137GB's. The 4981.67 is for hard drives over 137GB's so this is most likely what you would use.

You should flash your TSOP before you do that RAM upgrade otherwise you could run into some problems. So the question now is what version xbox do you have so you can figure out what you need.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: September 15th, 2011, 8:49 am 
Xtras God
User avatar
Xtras God
Offline

Joined: May 30th, 2010
Posts: 1802
Location: France
Xbox Version: v1.6
You forgot xbox v1.6 too ?
What bios for the last xbox release ?

Always in the idea to make a full tutorial to help others i found these informations : (to complete)

NOTE 1: Best solution is to open the XBOX and see the point D0 !
NOTE 2: How to read Bios/Kernel :
If you have never flash your TSOP and not using chip, start the xbox, go to "settings", choose "informations" and at the end you will read K: 1.00.xxxx.01
xxxx is the Kernel number.

Version 1.0-1.1

Read the date of manufacture on the xbox and :
- They are all the console made before December 2002!
- There are some 1.1 made in December and after, but no many more ...
Read the serial number :
- It is less than xxxxxxx 30xxx
Kernel :
- nothing or 3944 or 4034 or 4627 (1.0) / 4817 or 4972 (1.1)
Open your xbox :
- Motherboard power plug : single row of connectors
Image
- Point D0 : The D0 is different from other tracks
Image

Versions 1.2-1.5

Read the date of manufacture on the xbox and :
- All the xbox made after December 2002 and before April 2004 (not 100% sure)
Read the serial number :
- Serial Number v1.2 : xxxxxxx 30xxx
- Serial Number v1.3 : xxxxxxx 31xxx
- Serial Number v1.3 : xxxxxxx 32xxx
- Serial Number v1.4 / v1.5 : more than 32xxx ...
Kernel :
- 5101 (1.2 or 1.3 or 1.4 or 1.5)
Open your xbox :
- Motherboard power plug : double row connectors
Image
- Point D0 : D0 is the among the three points that touch
Image

Version 1.6

Read the date of manufacture on the xbox and :
- All made after April 2004 (not 100% sure)
Read the serial number : ???
Kernel : ???
Open your xbox :
- Motherboard power plug : double row connectors
Image
- Point D0 : No D0 !
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: September 15th, 2011, 5:57 pm 
Super Member
User avatar
Super Member
Offline

Joined: June 30th, 2010
Posts: 100
You cannot flash the TSOP on a 1.6 since there is NO TSOP on a 1.6 so that's why i never mentioned it. Also, you dont need to look at serial numbers or any of that jazz. The version will be obvious when you open up the xbox and you've show that in the pics above by look at the power connector. 1 row = 1.0-1.1, power plug with two rows of pins= 1.2-1.5.
The 1.2-1.5 all have the same bios size of 256k, so you need a 256k sized bios like X2_4981 and that's all there is to it. Unless your one of the unlucky folks that run into a Winbond TSOP chip but now Hexen and other utilities can flash those no problem.

So if you have a 1.6 you have to chip no matter what

Here are some more specific pictures of the points that need to be soldered.

1.0-1.1 Top and bottom points have to be soldered
Image

Image

1.2-1.5 Points to be soldered are on top only
Image

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: September 16th, 2011, 1:42 am 
Graphic Artist
User avatar
Graphic Artist
Online

Joined: May 29th, 2010
Posts: 1624
I have also found that sometimes its easier to bridge the alternate tsop points as they offer much better contact in most cases.
http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=266342

_________________
As a wise man said "Watching the tail wag the dog"


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Home » Board index » Main Board » Help, Troubleshooting, and Questions


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 5 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: